“Live on the Brink of Eternity”

The Life And Diary of David BrainerdI’m re-reading the Life and Diary of David Brainerd and again being humbled and encouraged by his radical sensitivity and passion for Christ. This quote made me think of the missionary couple that I posted on the other day and how easily I can lose sight of eternity. This life is a vapor in light of eternity.

“Oh, I love to live on the brink of eternity, in my views and meditations! This gives me a sweet, awful, and reverential sense and apprehension of God and divine things, when I see myself as it were standing before the judgement seat of Christ…My soul is delighted to be a stranger and pilgrim on the earth.” p. 101

Leave a Reply

